Showing posts with label Zenly. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Zenly. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Zenly app for iOS: Dismissing social media invites shows invite was successfully shared

 iOS: 15.4.1

Zenly app for iOS (version 5.0.3)

Date: 05/04/2022


There's an odd bug with the social media sharing options that are accessible after adding a friend by phone number. 

This is easier to show than to describe, so please take a look at the screenshots below.

After entering in a phone number on the "add by phone number" page, the user is presented with this screen:


The user can then activate any one of these options, such as Messenger:

If the user exits out of this prompt (without sending any link).....


This message appears. This is misleading as the user DID NOT send out a request. 

I've read before about how this was sometimes an issue with Facebook Messenger. This also happens with Telegram. 



Steps to Reproduce:

1. Create an account 

2. Select the gearbox settings option 

3. Select "account"

4. From the account screen, select "friends"

5. From the "manage your friends" screen select "add friends"

6. From the "add friends" screen select "by phone number"

7. Enter in a phone number 

8. Cancel out of the text

9. Select any social media option on the "choose an app to send your invite" screen

10. Open and close any option WITHOUT sending the link

Result: A success message appears after the user closes out app options to share a link

Expected: A success message should never appear if the user cancels out of sending a message 


Saturday, April 30, 2022

Zenly app for iOS: The Ghost Mode Instructions Are Nearly Inaccessible for New Users Who Limit Contacts or Who Don't Have Friends - Is This By Design?

 iOS 15.3

Zenly app for iOS (version 5.0.2)

Date: 04/30/2022

Description: 

Today I downloaded the Zenly app for iOS. I created an account using a phone number, but I purposefully did NOT give the app access to the contacts on my phone. 

I wanted to browse through the app while giving the app as limited amount of access to my personal information as possible. 

After creating an account, I see the familiar gear-box option for settings:

After creating an account, a setting options is available in the upper right.

This settings option takes me to a settings page where information about a "ghost mode" option is on screen:


I am just trying out the app, and I am weary about what type of information I am sharing. I want to read about this "ghost mode" which seems like a privacy feature I might be interested in...


This text appears on screen for perhaps 1 second. Before I can even focus on what any of it says...


This message appears. Why would I want to add friends before I understand all of the privacy features of the app? Why did text flash and disappear before my eyes in a split-second? 

Steps to Reproduce:

1. Create a new Zenly account - do not give app access to Contacts/do not add any friends
2. Select the Settings option in upper right
3. Scroll down and select "Ghost Mode" 
4. Text about "Ghost Mode" flashes quickly and disappears 

Result: The "Ghost Mode" instructional text appears and disappears in a brief moment 

Expected: A portion of the UI related to privacy features should always be accessible - text appearing and then disappearing is not an optimal end user experience