Showing posts with label Postmates. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Postmates. Show all posts

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Postmates app for iOS: App freezes after canceling out of sharing a restaurant via text

iOS 13.2
Postmates app for iOS (version 5.3.10)
Date: 10/31/2019

Description:

There is a minor but with the current (version 5.3.10) Postmates app for iOS. If the user has an unverified account (pending telephone number verification) the app will freeze after the user activates the share option and then dismisses sharing a text about a particular restaurant.

The app simply freezes. Nothing (as far as I can tell) will make the app responsive.

This is much easier to show than to describe - so please see the attached screenshots below.

Steps to Reproduce:

1. Download and launch the Postmates app for iOS
2. Select "GET STARTED"
3. Enter in an email address and password and create an account
4. Dismiss the "Add Address" option
5. Select any city ("Acton CA" for example)
6. Scroll down to any restaurant - view menu
7. From any restaurant's detail page, click on the "..." in the upper right
8. Select "Share"
9. From the Share UI, select "Messages"
10. From the "New Message" pop-up, select "Cancel"
11. Dismiss the Share UI

Result: If the user is browsing the app with an unverified account, the app will freeze, after the user selects a particular restaurant, selects "Share", and then opens and then cancels the pre-generated text message

Expected: The Postmates app should not become unresponsive if a user with an unverified account selects the share option from a restaurant in the app, and then selects and cancels a text message 

Open the app...

Select a city (Like Boise)...

Choose a restaurant...

Choose the "..." in the upper right...

Select the "Share" option...

Select the "Messages" option...

Select the "Cancel" option...

The app freezes for me, here.





Monday, September 30, 2019

Postmates app for iOS: App becomes unresponsive with an Oops message after selecting notification bell from an unavailable restaurant

iOS 13.1.2
Postmates app for iOS (version 5.3.5)
Date: 10/01/2019

Description:

There is an easy way to make the app become unresponsive with an error message on screen.

If the user is browsing through the app in anonymous mode, there is an option to look at "Available Later" restaurants in cities. If the user clicks on a notification bell for a restaurant that is available later, the app will simply become stuck with an error message on screen.

This error message is: "Oops, something went wrong. Please try again later."

I believe that if the user is in anonymous mode, they should be presented with an account creation/sign-in prompt. There should not be an uninformative error message. There doesn't seem to be any way to dismiss this error message, and exiting the app and re-launch results in the error message still being on screen.

This is easier to show than to describe, so please see the attached screenshots.


Steps to Reproduce:

1. Download and launch the Postmates app for iOS (version 5.3.5)
2. Select "GET STARTED"
3. Select "SKIP FOR NOW" from the "Create Account" screen
4. Select any city ("Aberdeen WA" - for example)
5. Select any of the top categories
6. Select any of the "Available Later" options
7. Click on the "Get Notified" bell option

Result: The app will become unresponsive with an error message of "Oops, something went wrong. Please try again later." if the user selects the notification bell for an unavailable restaurant while in guest mode

Expected: The user should be presented with an account creation/sign-in screen if they select the notification bell for an unavailable restaurant

Select "GET STARTED"....

Select "SKIP FOR NOW"....

Select any city....

Select the "Available Later" option....

Select the "Get Notified" option....

Try to get rid of this error message.

Friday, April 26, 2019

Postmates - Food Delivery app for iOS: Canceling out of Facebook Messenger share dialog results in a message implying you've shared something when you haven't

Postmates app for iOS (version 5.1.4)
Date: 04/26/2019

Description:

Canceling out of the Facebook Messenger sharing results in a message implying the user has successfully shared something from the Postmates app, even when they haven't.

This is easier to show than it is to describe, so please look at the attached screenshots. I think that this problem has something to do with an out of date Facebook Share SDK.

This problem happens if the user tries to share via the "Invite Friends, Get $100" page.

If the user opens up Facebook Messenger, via this page, a message is auto-generated. It reads: "Want $100 in Postmates delivery fee credit? It's valid for 7 days when you sign up with my link (new customers only!) https://postmat.es/wywJC1VdcW"

If the user cancels out of the Facebook Messenger share dialog, a message appears that says: "Thanks for sharing Postmates! You'll receive your credit as soon as your friend places their first order with your referral link."

This message is misleading as the user has NOT shared anything - it's a success message where there shouldn't be one. If possible, please fix!

Steps to Reproduce:

1. Download and launch the Postmates app for iOS
2. Select the gift box icon in the upper right hand corner of the app
3. From the "Invite Friends, Get $100" page, select the sharing arrow at the bottom of the screen
4. Select Messenger
5. Cancel out of the Messenger sharing option
6. Read the message at the bottom of the screen that says: "Thanks for sharing Postmates! You'll receive your credit as soon as your friend places their first order with your referral link."

Result: Canceling out of the Facebook Messenger sharing dialog results in a message inside of the Postmates app that an invitation to Postmates was successfully shared

Expected: Not this - there should not be a message about successfully sharing something via Facebook Messenger when the user canceled out of the process

Select "Invite Friends" option from inside of the Postmates app...

Select the sharing arrow on the bottom left hand corner of the screen...

Select "Cancel" and cancel out of Facebook Messenger...

The user will still be displayed a message that implies message was successfully shared via Facebook Messenger.